Diabetic Diet Pyramid

Designed by the American Diabetes Association and the American Dietetic Association, the Diabetic Food Pyramid divides food into six groups:

  • The largest group at the bottom of the pyramid are Grains, Beans and Starchy Vegetables. This means that you should eat more servings of grains, beans, and starchy vegetables than of any of the other foods.
  • The smallest group – Alcohol, Sweets and Oil – is at the top of the pyramid meaning that you should eat very few servings from these food groups.

Different from the USDA Food Guide Pyramid, diabetic food pyramid guides you with group of foods based on their carbohydrate and protein content because these foods affect blood glucose levels, which is the main concern to people with diabetes.

You may see differences like potatoes and other starchy vegetables in the grains, beans and starchy vegetables group instead of the vegetables group, cheese is in the meat group instead of the milk group.

Find more diabetes related posts:

  • How To Create A Diabetes 2 Diet Plan
  • 5 Vital Diabetes Diet Food Tips
  • The Role Of Magnesium In The Body
  • Mediterranean Diet and Diabetes
  • Subscribe in a reader

    Enter your email address:

    2 Responses to “Diabetic Diet Pyramid”

    1. bDiabetic Diet Pyramid | Diabetic Diets News — Diabetes Information Says:

      […] iHealth wrote an interesting post today. Here’s a quick excerptDesigned by the American bDiabetes/b Association and the American Dietetic Association, the bDiabetic/b Food Pyramid divides food into six groups: bDiabetic Diet/b. […]

    2. Quick Diet Says:

      Thank you for some other excellent article. Where else may just anybody get that type of info in such an ideal approach of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the search for such information.

    Leave a Reply